How to Pay SSS Contributions: PRN and Every Channel
Social Security System · contributions
Quick answer
You cannot pay SSS without a Payment Reference Number. Generate one in My.SSS or the MySSS mobile app, then pay through GCash, Maya, ShopeePay, PayRemit, a partner bank, Bayad Center, ECPay, SM or MYEG. PRN generation is free and runs 24/7.
Last verified
Where these figures come from
About these figures: the numbers below come from SSS's official published sources: Social Security System | SSS Payment Channels (https://www.sss.gov.ph/sss-payment-channels/, retrieved 2026-08-31); Social Security System | Citizen's Charter 2026 (1st Edition) (https://www.sss.gov.ph/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/2026-SSS-Citizens-Charter-1st-Edition-External-Services.pdf, retrieved 2026-08-31). Agencies change fees and rates without notice, so confirm with SSS before you rely on them. Last verified: 2026-08-31.
You cannot pay SSS with just your SS number any more. Every contribution payment runs against a Payment Reference Number, and generating one is the first step, not an optional extra.
Generating the PRN
The PRN feeds the SSS electronic Collection System, which is what posts a payment against your record in real time. Without it a payment has nothing to attach to.
| What SSS publishes | |
|---|---|
| Who may avail | Self-employed, voluntary and OFW members with a My.SSS account |
| Requirements | None beyond the account |
| Operating hours | 24/7 |
| Fee | None |
| Total processing time | 17 minutes |
The steps SSS sets out:
- Log in to the My.SSS Portal at www.sss.gov.ph. Fill in User ID and Password and click Sign In.
- Click GET PIN, using either a time-based one-time password from your authenticator app, or a one-time PIN by SMS, and enter the code.
- Access the Payment Reference Number menu and generate the PRN.
SSS notes that self-employed, voluntary and OFW members need to be registered on the My.SSS Member Portal and to have a stable internet connection for smooth PRN generation. If you do not have the account yet, the My.SSS registration guide covers the seven registration preferences it asks for.
The MySSS mobile app carries the same facility, and the charter lists PRN generation for contributions through the app as a separate service.
Where individual members can pay
This is SSS’s published channel list for individual members. SSS marks the list as of 5 December 2024.
| Channel type | Partners SSS lists |
|---|---|
| Mobile app | GCash, Maya, ShopeePay, PayRemit |
| Inside the SSS mobile app | GCash, Maya, BPI, credit card or debit card |
| SSS website | Billeroo |
| Bank, over the counter | Asia United Bank, Bank of Commerce, East West Rural Bank, Gateway Rural Bank, Partner Rural Bank, PNB, Rang-ay Bank, Robinsons Bank, Rural Bank of Hindang, Rural Bank of Lanuza, UnionBank, Zambales Rural Bank |
| Partner bank website | Land Bank Link.BizPortal, Robinsons Bank, Security Bank SBOL, UnionBank |
| Partner bank mobile app | Robinsons Bank, Security Bank SBOL, UnionBank |
| Non-bank, over the counter | Bayad Center, ECPay, SM Mart |
| Non-bank, website and mobile app | AltPayNet, Bayad Center |
| Non-bank, website | MYEG |
Twelve banks over the counter, four e-wallets, and three over-the-counter non-bank partners is a wide net. The practical shortlist for most people is GCash, Maya or a Bayad Center.
Where employers pay
Regular employers get a different and larger list, because it includes BancNet’s e-Gov facility.
| Channel type | Partners SSS lists |
|---|---|
| Bank, over the counter | Asia United Bank, Bank of Commerce, East West Rural Bank, Gateway Rural Bank, Partner Rural Bank, PNB, Rang-ay Bank, RCBC, Rural Bank of Hindang, Rural Bank of Lanuza, UnionBank, Zambales Rural Bank |
| BancNet e-Gov facility | Asia United Bank, BDO Unibank, Bank of Commerce, China Bank, Citibank, CTBC Bank, Deutsche Bank, East West Bank, Metrobank, MUFG Bank, PBCom, PNB, Philippine Veterans Bank, Philtrust Bank, RCBC, Robinsons Bank, Standard Chartered Bank |
| Partner bank website | BPI Bizlink, Land Bank Link.BizPortal, Security Bank Digibanker, UnionBank |
| Partner bank mobile app | UnionBank Online |
| Non-bank, over the counter | Bayad Center, ECPay, SM Mart |
| Non-bank, website | MYEG |
Seventeen banks sit behind the BancNet e-Gov facility, which is the route most payroll teams use. SSS employer registration covers getting the employer ID number those payments run against.
How much to pay
The PRN tells you the amount, but the amount comes from the schedule. SSS contributions run at 15% of the Monthly Salary Credit, split 10% employer and 5% employee, with the MSC running from ₱5,000 to ₱35,000.
| Monthly salary credit | Employee’s 5% share | Employer’s share including EC | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₱5,000 | ₱250.00 | ₱510.00 | ₱760.00 |
| ₱10,000 | ₱500.00 | ₱1,010.00 | ₱1,510.00 |
| ₱15,000 | ₱750.00 | ₱1,530.00 | ₱2,280.00 |
| ₱20,000 | ₱1,000.00 | ₱2,030.00 | ₱3,030.00 |
| ₱35,000 | ₱1,750.00 | ₱3,530.00 | ₱5,280.00 |
A self-employed, voluntary or OFW member paying alone carries the whole figure in the last column rather than the employee share. The SSS contribution table reproduces all 61 brackets.
Why keeping payments current matters
Missed months are not just missed savings. Almost every SSS entitlement is gated on a contribution count in a recent window.
| Entitlement | Contribution requirement |
|---|---|
| Sickness benefit | 3 months in the 12-month period before the semester of contingency |
| Maternity benefit | 3 months in the 12-month period before the semester of contingency |
| Salary loan | 36 posted contributions for a one-month loan, 72 for two, with 6 in the last 12 months |
| Calamity loan | 36 posted contributions, 6 in the last 12 months |
| Retirement pension | 120 monthly contributions before the semester of retirement |
The 6-in-the-last-12-months rule on both loans is the one that catches people who stop paying for half a year and then need cash.
What this page does not cover
SSS does not publish, on the pages read for this guide, the payment posting turnaround, an escalation route for a contribution that has not posted, the retroactive payment rules, transaction fees charged by any channel, or the monthly and quarterly payment deadline calendar. None of those are stated here. The channel list itself is dated 5 December 2024 on SSS’s own page.
Related
My.SSS registration covers getting the account the PRN lives in. The SSS contribution table covers what to pay, and SSS employer registration covers the business side.
Frequently asked questions
- How do I get an SSS Payment Reference Number?
- Log in to the My.SSS Member Portal, get your PIN through a time-based one-time password from an authenticator app or a one-time PIN by SMS, then open the Payment Reference Number menu and generate it. The SSS Citizen's Charter records the whole flow at 17 minutes total, with no fee, available 24/7.
- Do I need a PRN to pay?
- Yes. The PRN feeds the SSS electronic Collection System, which is what posts your payment in real time. Self-employed, voluntary and OFW members need a registered My.SSS account and a stable internet connection to generate one.
- Can I pay through GCash?
- Yes. SSS lists GCash, Maya, ShopeePay and PayRemit under mobile app channels for individual members, and GCash, Maya, BPI and credit or debit card inside the SSS mobile app itself.
- Where else can I pay?
- Over the counter at twelve partner banks, through partner bank websites and mobile apps, at Bayad Center, ECPay or SM Mart, through AltPayNet or Bayad Center online, through MYEG, or through Billeroo on the SSS website.
- How much should I pay?
- That depends on your Monthly Salary Credit. Contributions run at 15% of the MSC, with the MSC set from ₱5,000 to ₱35,000. The full schedule is in the SSS contribution table guide.
- How current is the channel list?
- SSS marks the list on its Payment Channels page as of 5 December 2024. Channels are added and dropped, so check the page before relying on a specific one.
- What if my payment does not post?
- SSS does not publish a posting turnaround or a non-posting escalation route on the pages read for this guide, so this page does not state one. The PRN exists precisely because it ties the payment to your record.
- Can I pay for months I missed?
- SSS does not publish retroactive payment rules on the pages read here, and they differ by membership type, so this guide does not state them. Ask SSS before paying for a past period.