Pag-IBIG Home Improvement Loan: ₱300,000 at 3%
Home Development Mutual Fund · loans
Quick answer
The Pag-IBIG Short-Term Loan for Home Improvement lends up to ₱300,000 over up to 5 years for work that needs no building permit. Early borrowers, the first 10,000, get a subsidised 3% per annum. You must own the property, free of liens.
Last verified
Where these figures come from
About these figures: the numbers below come from Pag-IBIG's official published sources: Pag-IBIG Fund | Home Improvement Loan (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/HomeImprovementLoan.html, retrieved 2026-08-31); Pag-IBIG Fund | Multi-Purpose Loan (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/member_cashloans_mpl.html, retrieved 2026-08-31); Pag-IBIG Fund | Regular Housing Loan (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/Availmentofnewloan.html, retrieved 2026-08-31). Agencies change fees and rates without notice, so confirm with Pag-IBIG before you rely on them. Last verified: 2026-08-31.
The Pag-IBIG Short-Term Loan for Home Improvement lends up to ₱300,000 over up to 5 years for work that does not need a building permit. Its headline is the rate: Pag-IBIG is subsidising the first 10,000 borrowers at 3% per annum, which is the cheapest published Pag-IBIG rate outside the Affordable Housing Loan.
The rate, and the catch inside it
Pag-IBIG’s own wording is worth reading carefully. The fixed interest rate is based on prevailing Pag-IBIG Fund pricing, but early borrowers, the first 10,000 borrowers, enjoy a subsidised rate of 3% per annum.
Two things follow. The 3% is a promotional allocation with a hard count on it, not a standing rate. And Pag-IBIG does not publish what “prevailing Pag-IBIG Fund pricing” resolves to once those 10,000 places are taken, so this guide does not state a standard rate. Ask Pag-IBIG which rate you are actually being offered before you sign.
Every peso figure below runs at 3%, and is this site’s arithmetic on that published rate, not a Pag-IBIG quotation.
Monthly payment by loan amount and term
| Loan amount | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years | 4 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₱50,000 | ₱4,235 | ₱2,149 | ₱1,454 | ₱1,107 | ₱898 |
| ₱100,000 | ₱8,469 | ₱4,298 | ₱2,908 | ₱2,213 | ₱1,797 |
| ₱150,000 | ₱12,704 | ₱6,447 | ₱4,362 | ₱3,320 | ₱2,695 |
| ₱200,000 | ₱16,939 | ₱8,596 | ₱5,816 | ₱4,427 | ₱3,594 |
| ₱250,000 | ₱21,173 | ₱10,745 | ₱7,270 | ₱5,534 | ₱4,492 |
| ₱300,000 | ₱25,408 | ₱12,894 | ₱8,724 | ₱6,640 | ₱5,391 |
At the ceiling of ₱300,000 over the maximum 5 years, the projected payment is ₱5,391 a month.
What the loan costs
| Loan amount | 1 year, payment / interest | 3 years, payment / interest | 5 years, payment / interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₱50,000 | ₱4,235 / ₱816 | ₱1,454 / ₱2,346 | ₱898 / ₱3,906 |
| ₱100,000 | ₱8,469 / ₱1,632 | ₱2,908 / ₱4,692 | ₱1,797 / ₱7,812 |
| ₱150,000 | ₱12,704 / ₱2,449 | ₱4,362 / ₱7,039 | ₱2,695 / ₱11,718 |
| ₱200,000 | ₱16,939 / ₱3,265 | ₱5,816 / ₱9,385 | ₱3,594 / ₱15,624 |
| ₱250,000 | ₱21,173 / ₱4,081 | ₱7,270 / ₱11,731 | ₱4,492 / ₱19,530 |
| ₱300,000 | ₱25,408 / ₱4,897 | ₱8,724 / ₱14,077 | ₱5,391 / ₱23,436 |
Three per cent is cheap enough that stretching the term is comparatively painless. On ₱300,000, going from 1 year to 5 years adds ₱18,539 in projected interest while cutting the monthly payment by ₱20,017. On the Multi-Purpose Loan the same stretch costs far more, because the rate is far higher.
Against the other Pag-IBIG cash options
Same ₱300,000 over 3 years, at each published rate. This is the comparison that makes the 3% worth queueing for.
| Loan | Published rate | Projected monthly | Projected total interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Improvement Loan, early-borrower rate | 3% per year | ₱8,724 | ₱14,077 |
| Calamity Loan | 5.95% per year | ₱9,120 | ₱28,312 |
| Multi-Purpose Loan | 1.4583% per month | ₱10,771 | ₱87,740 |
The MPL line is the one to look at twice. On the same amount over the same term, the projected interest is ₱87,740 against ₱14,077 here, a difference of ₱73,663. The two loans are not interchangeable, though: the MPL lends against your savings and needs no property, while this one needs a titled property and a Deed of Negative Pledge.
Note also that the MPL ceiling is 90% of your Regular Savings, so a member would need a Total Accumulated Value above ₱333,333 for the MPL to reach ₱300,000 at all. The Pag-IBIG Regular Savings guide explains how that balance builds.
Who qualifies
| Requirement | What Pag-IBIG asks |
|---|---|
| Savings history | Active member with at least 12 monthly savings |
| Active membership | At least 1 monthly savings contribution within the last 6 months before applying |
| Age at application | 65 years old or younger |
| Age at maturity | Not older than 70 at the end of the loan term |
| Checks | Passed Pag-IBIG’s background, credit and employment or business checks |
| Loan history | No Pag-IBIG loan in arrears, and no previous Pag-IBIG housing account foreclosed, cancelled or voluntarily surrendered |
| Property | You own it, and it stays free of liens and encumbrances for the entire loan term |
The two age rules work together and quietly shorten the term for older applicants. A member applying at 65 cannot take the full 5 years, because the loan would mature at 70. Pag-IBIG states the term rule as up to 5 years provided the loan matures before you reach 70 years old.
Requirements
| # | Requirement |
|---|---|
| 1 | Accomplished Short-Term Loan for Home Improvement Application Form |
| 2 | One valid ID |
| 3 | Proof of income, with separate lists for locally employed, self-employed and OFW applicants |
| 4 | Deed of Negative Pledge with Promissory Note |
| 5 | Updated Real Estate Tax Receipt, as of the latest quarter before application |
| 6 | Colored pictures of the exterior |
| 7 | Vicinity map or sketch of the property location, showing landmarks |
| 8 | Other documentary requirements as may be required by the branch |
Pag-IBIG publishes a template for the Deed of Negative Pledge alongside the application form. On the property itself the rule is short: it must be titled under your name and free from any liens or encumbrances throughout the loan term.
Fees the loan can absorb
This is a small but genuinely useful detail. Pag-IBIG states that, at your choice, the loan amount may be increased to include the cost of annotating the Deed of Negative Pledge and paying the Documentary Stamp Tax, so those fees are covered by the loan rather than paid out of pocket. Pag-IBIG does not publish the amount of either on this page.
Release, insurance and repayment
| Item | What Pag-IBIG publishes |
|---|---|
| Release | In two equal tranches, based on the progress of your home improvement project |
| Insurance | Credit Redemption Insurance (CRI) and property insurance |
| Payment channels | Virtual Pag-IBIG, accredited collection partners, auto debit arrangements with banks, or post-dated checks |
| Application | Prepare the accomplished form with the other requirements and submit it to the nearest Pag-IBIG Fund branch |
Two tranches matters for planning. You do not receive ₱300,000 on day one; you receive half, then the balance once the project has progressed. Budget the first phase against half the loan.
Home Improvement Loan against HEAL
Pag-IBIG publishes the distinction itself, and it is the cleanest answer to a question people get wrong.
| Home Improvement Loan | Home Equity Appreciation Loan (HEAL) | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it is for | Any eligible member who owns a property with a clean title | Existing Pag-IBIG housing loan borrowers only |
| Track record needed | The general eligibility rules above | Good payor for at least 5 years |
| How much | Up to ₱300,000 | Based on the net value of the mortgaged property |
| Existing housing loan | Not required | Required |
If you already carry a Pag-IBIG housing loan and have paid it well for 5 years, HEAL is the other door. The Pag-IBIG housing loan guide covers the rate ladder from 6.500% to 9.750% on the loan that HEAL sits on top of.
What this page does not cover
Pag-IBIG does not publish, on the Home Improvement Loan page, the standard interest rate once the first 10,000 subsidised slots are taken, the Credit Redemption Insurance premium, the property insurance premium, a processing fee, the appraisal cost, the Documentary Stamp Tax amount, or how “capacity to pay” is assessed. None of those are stated here. The full HEAL programme rules are also outside this page.
Related
The Multi-Purpose Loan guide covers the cash loan that needs no property, at 1.4583% a month. The Pag-IBIG housing loan guide covers the loan for buying rather than improving, and the Pag-IBIG contribution table covers the ₱400 a month that keeps your membership active enough to qualify.
Frequently asked questions
- How much can I borrow for home improvement?
- Up to ₱300,000, subject to your capacity to pay and the appraisal of your property. At your choice the loan amount may be increased to cover the cost of annotating the Deed of Negative Pledge and paying the Documentary Stamp Tax, so those fees are carried by the loan.
- What is the interest rate?
- Pag-IBIG states that the fixed rate is based on prevailing Pag-IBIG Fund pricing, but that early borrowers, the first 10,000, enjoy a subsidised rate of 3% per annum. Pag-IBIG does not publish the standard rate that applies once those 10,000 are taken, so this guide does not state one.
- What can I use it for?
- Minor home repairs and improvements that do not require a building permit. Pag-IBIG's examples are repainting, tiling and minor renovations. Its own marketing also promotes solar panel installation under this loan.
- How long can I repay it?
- Up to 5 years, provided the loan matures before you reach 70 years old.
- Who qualifies?
- An active Pag-IBIG member with at least 12 monthly savings, at least one of them within the last 6 months before applying; aged 65 or younger at application and not older than 70 at the end of the term; who has passed Pag-IBIG's background, credit and employment checks; has no Pag-IBIG loan in arrears and no housing account previously foreclosed, cancelled or voluntarily surrendered; and who owns the property, free of liens and encumbrances for the whole loan term.
- How is the money released?
- In two equal tranches, based on the progress of your home improvement project.
- Does it come with insurance?
- Yes. Pag-IBIG states the loan is covered by Credit Redemption Insurance and property insurance. It does not publish the premium on this page.
- How is this different from HEAL?
- The Home Improvement Loan is for members who own a property with a clean title and lets them borrow up to ₱300,000 to renovate even without an existing Pag-IBIG housing loan. The Home Equity Appreciation Loan is only for existing Pag-IBIG housing loan borrowers who have been good payors for at least 5 years, and lets them borrow against the net value of the mortgaged property.
More Pag-IBIG guides
Sources
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Home Improvement Loan, retrieved
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Multi-Purpose Loan, retrieved
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Regular Housing Loan, retrieved