Pag-IBIG Multi-Purpose Loan: Rate, Amount, Payments
Home Development Mutual Fund · loans
Quick answer
The Pag-IBIG Multi-Purpose Loan charges 1.4583% per month and lends up to 90% of your total Pag-IBIG Regular Savings, payable over 12, 24 or 36 months. You need 12 monthly savings, one of them within the last 6 months, and proof of income.
Last verified
Where these figures come from
About these figures: the numbers below come from Pag-IBIG's official published sources: Pag-IBIG Fund | Multi-Purpose Loan (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/member_cashloans_mpl.html, retrieved 2026-08-31); Pag-IBIG Fund | Regular Savings (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/Membership_RegularSavings.html, retrieved 2026-08-31); Pag-IBIG Fund | Calamity Loan (https://www.pagibigfund.gov.ph/member_cashloans_calamity.html, retrieved 2026-08-31). Agencies change fees and rates without notice, so confirm with Pag-IBIG before you rely on them. Last verified: 2026-08-31.
The Pag-IBIG Multi-Purpose Loan, or MPL, is a cash loan against savings you already hold. Pag-IBIG lends up to 90% of your total Pag-IBIG Regular Savings at 1.4583% per month, over 12, 24 or 36 months, and advertises release in as fast as 3 days.
Pag-IBIG lists these uses for the money:
- medical expenses
- minor home improvement
- capital for a small business
- tuition fee and other education-related expenses
- purchase of furniture, appliances or electronic gadgets
- payment of utility and credit card bills
- vacation and travel
- special events
- car repair
- other needs
Who qualifies
Three rules, all published on the MPL page, and all three have to hold at once.
| Requirement | What Pag-IBIG asks for |
|---|---|
| Savings history | At least 12 monthly membership savings under Pag-IBIG Regular Savings |
| Active membership | At least 1 monthly membership saving within the last 6 months before the application date |
| Existing loans | Any existing Pag-IBIG MPL, Calamity Loan or HELPs account must not be in default |
| Income | Proof of income, in the form set out below |
Twelve monthly savings is the floor, not a target. At the current ₱400 a month total contribution, 12 months puts roughly ₱4,800 of contributions into Regular Savings before dividends, and 90% of ₱4,800 is ₱4,320. The loan grows with the savings, so the eligibility floor and a useful loan amount are two different milestones.
How much you can borrow
Pag-IBIG’s rule is one line: up to 90% of total Regular Savings, which it defines as your monthly contributions, your employer’s contributions and the dividends already credited. If you have an outstanding MPL, Calamity Loan or HELPs, you receive the difference between that 90% and the outstanding balance.
| Total Regular Savings | 90% loanable amount |
|---|---|
| ₱10,000 | ₱9,000 |
| ₱20,000 | ₱18,000 |
| ₱30,000 | ₱27,000 |
| ₱50,000 | ₱45,000 |
| ₱75,000 | ₱67,500 |
| ₱100,000 | ₱90,000 |
| ₱150,000 | ₱135,000 |
| ₱200,000 | ₱180,000 |
Pag-IBIG does not publish a peso ceiling on the MPL the way it publishes ₱10 million on the housing loan. The ceiling is your own savings balance, and the only way to know it is to check your Total Accumulated Value in Virtual Pag-IBIG. This page cannot tell you what yours is.
What the contribution increase did to the loan
Since February 2024 the monthly Pag-IBIG Regular Savings contribution has been ₱400: ₱200 from the member, matched by ₱200 from the employer. Pag-IBIG sets that at 2% of the ₱10,000 Maximum Fund Salary, so 2% × ₱10,000 = ₱200 on each side. A member earning less than ₱10,000 in a month contributes 2% of actual earnings for that month instead.
Pag-IBIG says plainly on its Regular Savings page that the higher contribution raises what a member can borrow under the MPL, because Regular Savings is the basis of the loan. The arithmetic below is contributions only, at ₱400 a month, with no dividends counted, so it understates a real balance.
| Years at ₱400 a month | Contributions | 90% of contributions |
|---|---|---|
| 1 year | ₱4,800 | ₱4,320 |
| 2 years | ₱9,600 | ₱8,640 |
| 3 years | ₱14,400 | ₱12,960 |
| 5 years | ₱24,000 | ₱21,600 |
| 10 years | ₱48,000 | ₱43,200 |
| 15 years | ₱72,000 | ₱64,800 |
| 20 years | ₱96,000 | ₱86,400 |
Dividends sit on top of every one of those rows. Pag-IBIG declared 6.62% on Regular Savings for 2025, 6.60% for 2024, 6.55% for 2023, 6.53% for 2022 and 5.50% for 2021, and credits them to the account each year, so a real 20-year balance is larger than ₱96,000 and the loanable 90% is larger than ₱86,400. This page does not model that growth because Pag-IBIG’s own crediting method for Regular Savings was not read from the source.
Monthly payments, by savings balance and term
The rate and the terms are official. The payments are not. They are standard annuity arithmetic run on 1.4583% a month by this site, not Pag-IBIG quotations, and they ignore the deferred first payment, which shifts real due dates and can change what you owe.
| Total Regular Savings | Loan at 90% | 12 months | 24 months | 36 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₱10,000 | ₱9,000 | ₱823 | ₱447 | ₱323 |
| ₱20,000 | ₱18,000 | ₱1,646 | ₱894 | ₱646 |
| ₱30,000 | ₱27,000 | ₱2,469 | ₱1,341 | ₱969 |
| ₱50,000 | ₱45,000 | ₱4,115 | ₱2,236 | ₱1,616 |
| ₱75,000 | ₱67,500 | ₱6,172 | ₱3,354 | ₱2,423 |
| ₱100,000 | ₱90,000 | ₱8,230 | ₱4,471 | ₱3,231 |
| ₱150,000 | ₱135,000 | ₱12,345 | ₱6,707 | ₱4,847 |
| ₱200,000 | ₱180,000 | ₱16,460 | ₱8,943 | ₱6,462 |
What the longer term costs
Stretching a loan from 12 months to 36 months cuts the monthly payment by roughly 61% and roughly triples the interest. Same arithmetic, same rate.
| Loan amount | 12 months, payment / interest | 24 months, payment / interest | 36 months, payment / interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₱10,000 | ₱914 / ₱973 | ₱497 / ₱1,924 | ₱359 / ₱2,925 |
| ₱20,000 | ₱1,829 / ₱1,946 | ₱994 / ₱3,848 | ₱718 / ₱5,849 |
| ₱50,000 | ₱4,572 / ₱4,865 | ₱2,484 / ₱9,619 | ₱1,795 / ₱14,623 |
| ₱100,000 | ₱9,144 / ₱9,730 | ₱4,968 / ₱19,238 | ₱3,590 / ₱29,247 |
| ₱180,000 | ₱16,460 / ₱17,515 | ₱8,943 / ₱34,629 | ₱6,462 / ₱52,644 |
On a ₱100,000 loan the 36-month payment is ₱3,590 against ₱9,144 over 12 months, a difference of ₱5,554 a month. The interest goes the other way: ₱29,247 against ₱9,730, or ₱19,517 more. That is what the lower payment is bought with.
MPL, Calamity Loan and housing loan side by side
“Requirements for Pag-IBIG loan” covers three different products with three different rules. This is what each one actually asks for.
| Multi-Purpose Loan | Calamity Loan | Regular Housing Loan | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest | 1.4583% per month | 5.95% per year | 6.500% to 9.750%, by repricing period |
| How much | Up to 90% of Regular Savings | Up to 90% of Regular Savings | Up to ₱10 million |
| Term | 12, 24 or 36 months | 12, 24 or 36 months | Up to 30 years |
| Savings needed | 12 monthly savings, 1 in the last 6 months | 12 monthly savings, 1 in the last 6 months | Not read from the source |
| Extra condition | None beyond the loan rules | Must live or work in an area under a declared state of calamity, and apply within 90 days | Property and appraisal rules, not covered here |
| First payment | Deferred | Due on the 3rd month after release | Not read from the source |
The MPL and the Calamity Loan share the same 90% pool. Pag-IBIG says the amount released on a new loan is the 90% figure minus the outstanding balance of any existing MPL, Calamity Loan or HELPs, so taking one reduces what the other can pay out.
On the same ₱100,000 loan over 36 months, the projected MPL payment is ₱3,590 a month against ₱3,040 for the Calamity Loan, and the projected interest is ₱29,247 against ₱9,437. The gap is ₱19,809 in interest on the same amount over the same term. The Calamity Loan is only open when a state of calamity has been declared for your area, so the two are not alternatives most of the time. The Pag-IBIG Calamity Loan guide has the full rules.
Requirements
Four items, plus a fifth if you apply online.
| # | Requirement |
|---|---|
| 1 | Accomplished Pag-IBIG Multi-Purpose Loan Application Form |
| 2 | One valid ID |
| 3 | Proof of income, per the category below |
| 4 | Cash card |
| 5 | For online applications, a selfie photo showing your valid ID and cash card |
Proof of income depends on who you are, and Pag-IBIG spells out three cases.
Locally employed. The “Certificate of Net Pay” portion at the back of the application form must be filled in by the employer, or you submit a photocopy of one month’s latest payslip authenticated by the company’s authorised signatory.
Self-employed. Any one of: an Income Tax Return with Audited Financial Statements and the official receipt of tax payment from the bank, supported by DTI registration and a Mayor’s or business permit, in 1 photocopy; commission vouchers showing the issuer’s name and contact details for the last 12 months, 1 original; bank statements or passbook for the last 12 months where income comes from foreign remittance or pension, 1 original; a transport franchise from the LGU for tricycles or the LTFRB for other PUVs, 1 certified true copy; a certificate of engagement from the business owner, 1 original; or a declaration of income, 1 original.
Overseas Filipino Workers. The POEA Standard Contract in 1 photocopy; a Certificate of Employment and Compensation issued within the past 12 months, either on the employer’s official letterhead in 1 original copy or, for household staff and similarly situated employees, signed by the employer and supported by a photocopy of the employer’s ID or passport, in 1 original copy; or an ITR filed with the host country’s government, 1 original. Documents in a foreign language need an English translation.
How to apply
Pag-IBIG lists two routes on the page, and the online one has a prerequisite worth knowing before you start.
| Step | At a branch | Online via Virtual Pag-IBIG |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Accomplish the MPL Application Form and submit it with the other requirements to the nearest branch | Go to the Virtual Pag-IBIG website |
| 2 | Get the STL Acknowledgment Receipt from the branch | Click Apply for and Manage Loans, then Apply for Short-Term Loan |
| 3 | Allow 2 to 3 working days for processing and validation | Once you have all requirements ready, click Proceed |
| 4 | Receive an SMS alert once the loan is credited to your cash card | Fill in the required details, including your cash card or Loyalty Card Plus, and upload your valid ID and selfie photo |
| 5 | Allow 2 to 3 working days for processing and validation | |
| 6 | Receive an SMS alert once the loan is credited to your cash card |
Uploading the form and requirements through Virtual Pag-IBIG is open to members holding a Pag-IBIG Loyalty Card Plus or a cash card issued by a Pag-IBIG partner bank. The fully online application form, for members whose employers are enrolled under Virtual Pag-IBIG for Employers, is open to Loyalty Card Plus holders only. The card costs ₱125 at a branch, and the Loyalty Card Plus guide covers how to get one.
Paying it back, and renewing
The loan runs 12, 24 or 36 months and comes with a deferred first payment. Pag-IBIG does not say on the MPL page how long the deferral is, so this page does not state one.
Employed members can pay by salary deduction arranged with their employer, and can pay ahead through Virtual Pag-IBIG or any accredited collecting partner’s outlet or online channel. Self-employed members and OFWs pay through Virtual Pag-IBIG or those same collecting partners.
Renewal opens after you have paid an amount equal to at least 4 monthly amortisations and meet the eligibility rules again. The outstanding balance of the existing loan is deducted from the proceeds of the new one, so a renewal at month 4 releases less cash than the headline 90% figure.
What this page does not cover
Pag-IBIG’s MPL page does not publish a processing fee, a service charge, an insurance premium, a penalty rate for late payment, or the length of the deferred first payment. None of those are stated here rather than guessed. The detailed programme rules are in Pag-IBIG Fund Circular No. 469, Enhanced Guidelines on the Pag-IBIG Multi-Purpose Loan (MPL) Program, linked from the MPL page itself.
Related
Your Regular Savings balance is what sets the loan ceiling, and the Pag-IBIG MP2 guide covers the separate voluntary programme that pays a higher dividend than Regular Savings did in every year from 2021 to 2025. If you are weighing a cash loan against a property purchase, the Pag-IBIG housing loan guide has the published rate ladder, and the MP2 savings calculator will run your own monthly amount.
Frequently asked questions
- How much can I borrow under the Pag-IBIG MPL?
- Up to 90% of your total Pag-IBIG Regular Savings, which Pag-IBIG defines as your own monthly contributions, your employer's contributions and the dividends already credited to you. If you have an outstanding MPL, Calamity Loan or HELPs, you receive the difference between that 90% and the outstanding balance.
- What is the Pag-IBIG MPL interest rate?
- 1.4583% per month. Pag-IBIG states the rate monthly and does not publish an annual equivalent on the MPL page, so this guide does not quote one as an agency figure.
- How many contributions do I need before I can apply?
- At least 12 monthly membership savings under Pag-IBIG Regular Savings, and at least one monthly saving within the 6 months before the application date. Any existing MPL, Calamity Loan or HELPs account must not be in default.
- How long do I have to pay the Pag-IBIG MPL?
- 12, 24 or 36 months, with a deferred first payment. Pag-IBIG does not state on the MPL page how many months the deferral runs, so confirm the first due date with Pag-IBIG.
- When can I renew my MPL?
- After paying an amount equal to at least 4 monthly amortisations and meeting the eligibility rules again. The outstanding balance of the existing loan is deducted from the proceeds of the new one.
- How long does approval take?
- Pag-IBIG advertises release in as fast as 3 days, and its application steps say to allow 2 to 3 working days for the application to be processed and validated. You get an SMS alert once the loan is credited to your cash card.
- Can I apply online?
- Yes, through Virtual Pag-IBIG. Uploading the form and requirements is open to members with a Pag-IBIG Loyalty Card Plus or a cash card issued by a Pag-IBIG partner bank. The fully online application form, for members whose employers are enrolled in Virtual Pag-IBIG for Employers, is open to Loyalty Card Plus holders only.
- Are the monthly payments on this page official?
- No. The 1.4583% rate, the 90% ceiling and the 12, 24 and 36-month terms are official. The payment figures are standard annuity arithmetic run on that rate by this site, and Pag-IBIG has not published the amortisation method it actually uses for the MPL.
More Pag-IBIG guides
Sources
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Multi-Purpose Loan, retrieved
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Regular Savings, retrieved
- Pag-IBIG Fund | Calamity Loan, retrieved